RIFYL: Franz Ferdinand, The Strokes, The Walkmen, Velvet Underground, Bob Dylan, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds


In a small countryside studio just north of San Francisco, in late 2012, a group of musicians gathered for late-night sessions and crafted what would become the 1955 sound: lean tight songs with a cinematic sweep to them, propelled by a stripped down garage rock vibe and an unbridled live energy. The songs recall the swaggering energy of the bands’ heroes (Velvet Underground, Bob Dylan, Nick Cave) but bristle with a modern, moody edge along the lines of Franz Ferdinand, The Black Keys, and Arctic Monkeys. Echoes of the mysterious year that gave them their name cut through the pop/rock sound while lyrics inspired by the films of David Lynch, Los Angeles at night, and seedy country roadhouses drift over the toe-tapping music.

1955 has just released a follow up single to their hit "Glory Days" titled "How'd You Come Here," as well as their                          accompanying new music video.

1955 is:
Sasha Papadin - vocals, guitar, keys
Kieran Maloney - drums
Dane Gaffney - bass
Cameron Iturri - lead guitar

Recent Shows... 

  • Rickshaw Stop · San Francisco
  • Brick and Mortar Music Hall w/ Kate Boy · San Francisco
  • No Name Club · Los Angeles
  • Silverlake Lounge · Los Angeles
  • Desert Daze Music Festival (w/Blonde Redhead, Liars, and The Raveonettes)
  • 2014 Noise Pop Block Party (w/Rogue Wave, Cayucas, and The Mattson Two)
  • The band was also featured in Levi’s ‘Lived in Levi’s’ campaign.


Instagram       Facebook       Spotify



Press Photos